Writing 101: Day Three – One-Word Inspiration (LOVE)

Today’s Writing 101, here,

“Prompts come in many different forms. Sometimes, a single word is all you need to get your mind’s wheels turning. Here are six words:

TREASURE
REGRET
HOME
LOVE
UNCERTAINTY
SECRET

Select one word in this list that speaks to you in some way. Have you always wanted to write about that wrong decision you made? Are you a long-term traveler looking for the right city to settle? Do you want to write a poem about your relationship?

The beauty of the one-word prompt is that it’s open to interpretation. What do you think of when you hear this word? What do you see? This word is simply the seed for your post: feel free to shape your idea as you see fit.

(If you like these one-word prompts, consider a Prompt Box: an offline well of inspiration that you can draw from on a rainy day. Writer Andrea Badgley keeps prompts on slips of paper in a Chinese tea tin; I use an old jewelry box I once bought from a market in Italy. In whatever vessel you choose, add slips of paper with single words, as we’ve practiced here. Short phrases work well, too.)


It took me time until I get the inspiration to post this, everything we have either if it’s treasure, regret, uncertainty, secret or home, LOVE will always prevail, if it is missing, I don’t want to imagine it.

A dear friend of mine, had trouble about his relationship with his girlfriend, and the girl approached me for help.

The story goes like this, my friend (guy) and his girlfriend has a little misunderstanding, out of jealousy both is suspicious about each other. Thinking that each party has his/her own third wheel.

I advised that that they need to communicate with each other and laid down in the table that is causing the conflict.

To make the story short, the girl wants to break-up with my friend because she has another man.

We told our friend to get a life, because until now he is still in love with her. Terrible!


Loving someone is a give and take, and it should be given freely to the one that will take care of it. Love doesn’t have to perfect as seen on TV or movie.

Love is a choice, I choose to love simply because I want to give and spread love. How about you?

A song to remind me or you that loving somebody needs to be simple and gentle.

The Way You Are – David Choi & Kina Grannis

D: You the only girl that I see
The only one that I dream about constantly

K: You the only boy that I need
The only one that I dream about endlessly

D: I want to say I think you’re perfect
K: You know I think you’re perfect

K: For all the wait I know you’re worth it
D: The wait I know you’re worth it

We’ll always make it through
As long as you’ve got me and I’ve got you

We will take the world in our stride
Anything can be possible by your side

D: I want to say I think you’re perfect
K: You know I think you’re perfect

K: For all the wait I know you’re worth it
D: The wait I know you’re worth it

I love the way you are
I love the way you are
I love the way, I love the way
I love the way you are

D: You the only girl that I see
The only one that I dream about constantly

K: You the only boy that I need
The only one that I dream about endlessly

10

Click photo for credits