Writing 101: Day Six – The Space To Write

Today’s Writing 101:

There is only one place to write and that is alone at a typewriter. The writer who has to go into the streets is a writer who does not know the streets. . . . when you leave your typewriter you leave your machine gun and the rats come pouring through.

— Charles Bukowski, Notes of a Dirty Old Man

Where do you write? Do you prefer blogging on your laptop in a coffee shop? Are you productive in a quiet room, door closed, away from civilization? Today, describe the space where you write. Or, if you don’t have a dedicated place, what is your ideal setting?

Consider these questions to shape your post:

  • What are your writing habits?
  • What equipment or supplies do you use to write?
  • What do you need and want in a physical space?

In the course, we’ll occasionally ask you to do a task in preparation for a future post. Today, insert a poll at the end of this post to gather ideas on what to write. (If you prefer not to add a poll to today’s post, an alternative is publishing a new page with a contact form, which you can use for this purpose.)


My writing habits…

I try to make time to write in my blog, whether I am at work or at home. You may say it is exhausted but I try to make time for everything.

I always do my best that I am in good disposition, whether at work or at home or with my blog blogging. Really?! Yes, vacation and travelling makes the stressful thoughts go away.

What I used to write…

Aside from using the laptop for browsing, I learn that carrying a notebook with you and write whenever I get a spare time.

And as I said before I write because I don’t know what I think until I read what I say.

I am sometimes surprise how much I get my writings done with a little time.

What I need to write…

I construct my posts using my desktop or my laptop. Water and chocolate often helps me to have all the creativity in mind with full of inspiration.

Well, to get an inspiration for my future posts and for the sake learning how to write better, you can participate in my mini polls, or you can write your suggestion and comments below.

Whatever work space we choose to have or the habits that we should have before blogging, we should enjoy writing our posts and have fun.

fun